Sexist Republican Senators say She Persisted

It’s no secret that most of the US Congress is white, male, and older. It’s like an exclusive club of the rich white elite males in American politics. There are a few women in the Senate, but only 20 out of 100 members. There are also only a few women in the US Congress. It’s very much a men’s club and women and minorities are not adequately represented. Therefore it was not unexpected or unsurprising to me to hear that Senator Elizabeth Warren was told to be quiet by one of the Senate’s most blatantly sexist men, Mitch McConnell. He has supported our misogynist president Trump for so long the sexism has obviously transferred to McConnell’s own way of thinking. In shutting down Warren’s right to speak during Jeff Sessions’ hearing in the Senate, McConnell tried to explain:

Warren was reading aloud from a scathing 1986 letter Coretta Scott King wrote opposing Sessions as a potential federal judge, when McConnell interrupted her mid-sentence to invoke a rule that prevents senators from ascribing “unbecoming” conduct to another senator.

“She was warned,” McConnell said on the Senate floor after the confrontation.

“She was given an explanation. Nevertheless, she persisted.”

Of course she persisted, it was her job to do that! In the video above, Senator Warren explains what she was trying to do, which was nothing more than a valid, relevant, and legal thing. She reads the entire letter, which is largely about voting rights. It’s extremely pertinent to the situation today, when Republicans are doing all they can to suppress Democrats, and especially black people, from voting. Her point was that Jeff Sessions was known at one time for suppressing voter rights, and people in the United States should know that before he was voted on for Attorney General of the United States. Elizabeth Warren was subsequently told to sit down and shut up by this cabal of white men, and she was forbidden from speaking on Sessions for the remainder of his hearing. Sessions was then confirmed by vote for Attorney General on February 9th.